Earlier this year, we told you that Colorado DUI lawyers and criminal defense lawyers were preparing for a major change to state laws. As of this summer, a driver’s fourth DUI will be a felony charge, punishable with up to six years in prison and $500,000 fine.
Until Governor John Hickenlooper signed the bill into law, Colorado was one of the few states left in the country without such a felony DUI standard. Now, Colorado joins a long list of states putting more pressure on DUI offenders. Many states are increasingly using ignition interlock devices, while others are making punishments more severe. Without the right criminal defense team, defendants could end up paying heavy fines, losing their license, or even spending time in prison.
In Colorado, activists with groups like Mothers Against Drunk Driving even say the felony DUI standard is too weak. The majority of fatal drunk driving crashes involve drivers who go above and beyond the legal blood alcohol content limit of 0.08% (or 0.02% for anyone under 21), and some drunk drivers continue to offend until they are put in prison (or the morgue).
This September, a Colorado Springs man is probably looking for the best DUI lawyers in Colorado after crashing up against the new felony DUI law. Police there say a 53-year-old driver was arrested on suspicion of his ninth DUI after being involved in a crash over the Labor Day weekend. And Police Spokeswoman Lt. Catherine Buckley says his prior convictions make him eligible for a Class 4 felony. In total, Colorado Springs police arrested 23 people for DUI offenses over Labor Day.
“This is not the first person arrested since the felony DUI laws [were enacted], however the number of arrests for DUI seemed remarkable,” Buckley said.
Remember, if you’ve been charged with a DUI or Driving While Ability Impaired, then you’ll need experienced Colorado DUI attorneys to fight for your rights in court. Trust your criminal defense to practiced DUI lawyers who will fight for you.