After Colorado Governor John Hickenlooper signs a new piece of DUI legislation this year, repeat drunk driving offenses will officially become a felony in the state. Until recently, Colorado was one of the only states left in America without a felony DUI standard, meaning drunk driving lawyers could help clients stay out of prison. Some drivers even racked up six or seven DUIs without facing any jail time at all. However, that’s all about to change.
Colorado DUI lawyers have been preparing themselves for the new felony DUI rules for years. But if you’re looking for information about Colorado’s new felony DUI law, or just need a refresher on the existing laws and penalties, then here are six fast facts every Colorado driver should know:
Know Your Limit!
Almost everyone knows that the legal limit for Blood Alcohol Content in drivers iS 0.08% when you start your engines. But for drivers under the legal drinking age of 21, the legal BAC limit is just 0.02%. That means young people and students getting behind the wheel could blow over the limit after just one beer or cocktail.
The Difference Between DWAI And DUI In Colorado
According to Colorado law, it’s still illegal to drive with a BAC of 0.05% or higher. However, such an offense is classified as “driving while ability impaired,” a lesser offense.
Safety First – Drinking And Driving Kills
When it comes to fatal car accidents, most alcohol-impaired drivers had a BAC well over the legal limit of 0.08% at the time of the crash. Even so, your reaction times drop sharply after just one or two drinks.
A DUI Doesn’t Have To Ruin Your Life
If you’ve been charged with a DUI or DWAI, then you could fail background checks for years to come. However, a DUI doesn’t have to be the end of the road for your career plans. Showing up to court with a DUI attorney will show the judge that you take the matter seriously. And the best DUI lawyers can help you clean your record.
If You Drive Drunk, Find A Drunk Driving Lawyer ASAP
After a first DUI offense, expect to pay the piper. Colorado drivers can expect to pay a fine of anywhere from $300 to $1,000. Additionally, they can also have their license suspended for a year, or even spend that same amount of time in a jail cell. If you’re worried about facing jail time, then consider hiring a drunk driving lawyer to take your case.
After all, you know what they say about fighting the law…
Repeat Offenders Can Expect Felony Charges
Proponents of the felony DUI bill have been urging the Governor to sign it for years, and he says he’ll do exactly that this year. As is often the case when a new law goes on the books, police and prosecutors want to show the public that they’re cracking down. So if you’ve already been charged with a DUI and get caught a second time, you could be facing serious consequences.