A drunk driving charge is something that people think only happens to other people — until it happens to them. The time directly following a drunk driving charge can be one of the most stressful in a person’s life. Since a DWI charge in Colorado can be serious, it’s essential to understand what the charge is, what the consequences are, and what to do next.
Remember, getting pulled over and charged with a DUI can happen to almost anyone. In some cases, especially with a first offense, you may not have even known you were over the legal BAC limit. In Colorado, you may have taken a breathalyzer test or a blood test after getting pulled over. If the results surprised you, it may be time to consider hiring a Denver DUI attorney to fight against a charge for driving under the influence, while intoxicated, while your ability was impaired, or being an underage drunk driver.
Why should you hire a local Denver CO DUI attorney? Simply put, having a defense lawyer on your side will give you the greatest chance to have your charges reduced or even thrown out. A defense attorney may also be able to determine whether or not the charges against you were valid. Yet no matter what the circumstances, you need a professional on your side to make sure you are treated fairly.
The DUI attorneys Denver drivers need most will have courtroom know-how and be able to argue against any false or fraudulent claims. Additionally, in the event that you have admitted guilt, your attorney may be able to get the charges dropped or reduced.
Why is having an attorney on your side so crucial for your future? Unfortunately, something like a Driving While Ability Impaired (DWAI) can have long-term consequences, even though you may have only had a BAC of 0.05% (the state’s legal limit). As a result, you could be facing a fine between $600 and $1,000, 48 to 96 hours of community service, and maybe even five days to an entire year in jail. On top that, you’ll receive 12 points on your license, which is enough to suspend it for one year. Subsequent offenses only get worse from there and can lead to higher fines, more jail time, and revocation of your driver’s license altogether.