Colorado Passes New Felony DUI Law – What To Know

  • Robert Biondino,
  •   DUI
  •   None

 

Here’s a lawyer joke you haven’t heard yet: Looking for the best drunk driving lawyer in the state? Well, why is your lawyer driving drunk in the first place?

Unfortunately, if you really are looking for a DUI attorney to represent you in Colorado, then life is about to get even more difficult. Colorado Governor John Hickenlooper plans to sign a bill making repeat DUI offenses a felony crime. Until recently, Colorado was one of the only states without a felony DUI standard, but all that is about to change in 2015.

If you’ve gotten a DUI or a DWAI (driving while ability impaired) for the first, second or third time, then hiring a criminal defense lawyer is the single most important step you can take to get your life back on track. Driving with a blood alcohol content (BAC) of 0.08% or higher can lead to a DUI charge, but not everyone knows that driving with a BAC over 0.05% is illegal, too. And drivers who get behind the wheel with a BAC between 0.05% and 0.08% can be charged with a DWAI, according to Colorado law.

After being convicted of their first DUI offense, Colorado drivers will spend anywhere from five days to an entire year in jail, with 48 to 96 hours of mandatory community service. A first offense could result in not only a $1000 fine, but also losing your license for a whole year. So if you rely on your car to get to work or school, then having your license suspended can lead to disaster.

If you want to avoid jail time or get back behind the wheel quickly, then there’s one easy thing you can do right away — hire a DUI attorney to take your case. Plus, hiring a defense attorney to represent you in court shows the judge that you take the charges against you seriously, as you should.

Drunk driving is incredibly dangerous, but a DUI charge doesn’t have to ruin your life. For many drivers, a DUI or DWAI is exactly the wake up call they need to get their life back on track. And considering how many people are killed in drunk driving accidents every year, a DUI charge isn’t the worst thing that could happen. The best DUI lawyers can help you clean up your record for life.

Don’t let a DUI charge get any worse. If you or someone you know has gotten a DUI, then make sure they hire a DUI attorney as early in the process as possible. It’s never too late to start protecting yourself.

Comments are closed for this post.